The Ugly Truth

2010 was a year that involved finding out a LOT of information about myself and my past and my mother. Well what do ya know, I get to find out something new an hour into 2011.

Now, two of my siblings were in fostercare as teenagers. I knew that. But guess who has two thumbs and was also in fostercare? This girl.

I’m not sure exactly how long I was in it for, but I know that I was just six months old. After I was taken away from my mother, before I could go to live with my father Social Services had to make sure he was fit to take care of children.

I was apparently abused in my various homes, because Adam saw me and I had bruises all on my head. You don’t drop infants on their foreheads by accident. The world of fostercare is often a cruel one.

It’s not that I feel like I should get extra attention, it’s not that I think my time in fostercare has changed me. I’m just disappointed that I’d never been told. I shouldn’t be surprised-I didn’t know who my own mother was until last December, a little over a year ago. Hidden truths are a regular part of my life. Might as well get used to ’em. I’m pretty sure there are a lot more.

Leave a Reply

